• Faithful to my Homeland, the Republic of Poland

  • The Republic of Poland (Rzeczpospolita Polska) is one of the largest countries in Central Europe. It borders on Russia, Lithuania, Belarus, Ukraine, Slovakia, the Czech Republic, and Germany. Its northern frontier on the Baltic Sea gives it easy access to Scandinavian and North Sea ports. 

    The capital of Poland, Warsaw, is situated in the center of the country. Poland ranks ninth in Europe in terms of size, and 69th in the world, with a surface area of 312,677 sq. km. Poland is in the Central European time zone (GMT + 1 hour). In late March it switches to daylight saving time, which lasts till late October. 

    The country lies almost wholly on the North European Plain and is a land of gentle slopes, rarely rising above 300 m, except along the southern border with the Sudety and Carpathian Mountain ranges. Rysy, Poland's highest mountain peak, rises 2,499 m above sea level. Approximately one-fifth of Poland's area is maintained as pasture and meadows. Forests cover over one-fourth of the total area. The longest rivers cross the country northwards: the Vistula (1,074 km in length) in the center, and the Oder (854 km), which flows along Poland's western border.


    Print Print Share: